Activity guides · Flag football · Español
Youth Flag Football in Chicago: Leagues, Formats & Where to Start
Flag football is the rare kids' sport where the first question has a clean answer — no tackling, no pads, one day a week — and every question after it gets murky: which league, what format, what it costs, and whether the price on the page is the price you pay. Chicago has three in-city doors — the Park District, i9 Sports, and NFL FLAG leagues — plus a suburban comparator, and they disagree on ages, formats, and what they publish. This guide puts them on the same table, with every figure dated and every gap labeled.
The landscape at a glance
One table, same questions, no rigging: the Park District wins on price and neighborhood coverage, i9 wins on published prices and a one-day-a-week schedule, and the NFL FLAG leagues win on the official kit and the school-team runway. Where a cell says “not published,” that is a finding, not a gap in this guide — two of the three commercial doors do not publish a base fee on their public pages.
| Program | Ages | Format | Enrollment | Price model (checked Oct 30, 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Park District | Mostly Youth, roughly 6–13; 5 flag-named Early Childhood sessions at 2 parks | Mostly instruction/skills per park; 11 league-coded sessions | Seasonal registration days, per park | Catalog fees $0–$310, median $4.50; 98 of 200 sessions free |
| i9 Sports Chicago Northside | Co-ed grades K–3 (rec) and 4–8 (7 v 7); nationally ages 4–14 | Indoor; practice before game, same day; Saturdays | Seasonal; early-payment deadlines | Early-payment fees only: $249 (K–3) / $369 (4–8) per 8-week season; regular fee not published; inclusions not stated |
| Martin NFL FLAG (Kroc Center) | Ages 5–14, boys and girls | Saturdays; ~30 min practice before a 40–60 min game; 7-week seasons | Seasonal (fall/spring); no tryouts, everyone plays | Base fee not published; kit (reversible NFL jersey + flag belt) included; mouthguard required, not included |
| Midwest YAC (Pullman) | Site conflicts with itself: 6–15 in one place, 6–16 in another | Format not stated on its page; Winter '27 Mondays 6–8 PM | Seasonal; registration open for Winter '27 | Not published online |
Commercial figures checked Oct 30, 2026 on each provider's own page. Suburban comparator, not in the table: Sunday Funday Sports (Darien) runs an official NFL FLAG league for grades K–8, one hour on Sundays with no weekday practices — useful if you live near DuPage County, not a Chicago option.
Chicago Park District
200 football sessions · 103 parks · 155 flag-named
i9 Sports Chicago Northside
Indoor winter seasons · Saturdays · grades K–8
Martin NFL FLAG
Kroc Center, 1250 W 119th St · ages 5–14
Midwest YAC
Pullman Community Center · Winter '27 · Mondays
Provider logos shown for identification; they belong to their respective owners.
Why flag first: no-tackle, not no-contact
The format is the appeal, so get it exactly right. The standard NFL FLAG game is 5 v 5, non-contact, on a compact field: no tackling, no blocking, no diving, and a play ends when a defender pulls a flag from the ball carrier's belt. i9's national format scales by age — 4 v 4 for ages 4–7, 5 v 5 for ages 8–10, 7 v 7 for age 11 and up — but note the label: that is the national ladder, not a Chicago-confirmed one. Chicago Northside's own listing confirms 7 v 7 for its grades 4–8 division and does not state a format for its K–3 recreation division, so do not quote a Chicago 4 v 4 or 5 v 5 figure you got from another city's i9 page.
The honest half of the safety story: players run at full speed with no pads, so incidental contact happens even where tackling is banned. That is why the mouthguard rule is the one gear rule that is not optional — and why flag's real safety advantage is structural, not magical: no helmets to buy, no weight classes, no collision as the point of the game. Rosters stay small (around 8–11 in NFL FLAG leagues generally), which is also why playing time is a non-issue here: rec leagues answer the tryout question the same way — i9 says every child plays every game, Martin says no tryouts and everyone participates.
The Park District door: flag is already most of football
Here is the surprise in the catalog numbers: the Park District's football category is mostly flag already — 155 of 200 sessions carry flag in the name — but it is not a league. It is per-park instruction and skills sessions: Flag Football, Flag Football - Level 1, Flag Football Skills, and home-school and league variants, scattered across 90 parks. Addams (Jane) Park alone runs 15 football sessions, all of them flag-named, and Gately Park runs 8 with 7 flag-named. If you want a cheap, neighborhood first taste without committing to a league schedule, search your park's listings first — and expect a class, not a standings table.
Two distinctions that prevent expensive misunderstandings. First, Junior Bears is tackle, not flag: the Park District's own budget release describes Bears Care as supporting “the long-standing Junior Bears and Inner-City Flag Football programs offered in parks throughout the city,” with more than 2,000 boys and girls ages 8–17 participating annually — two programs, one sentence, and only the second is flag. Second, the Park District door opens late for the youngest kids: with only 5 flag-named Early Childhood sessions at 2 parks, a 4- or 5-year-old's realistic first season is usually i9 or an NFL FLAG league, with the Park District taking over as the cheap local option from around age 6. The trade is the usual one: the Park District is cheapest and closest, but it runs on fixed seasonal registration days, not rolling enrollment, and its listings are per park, not one citywide league page.
i9 Sports Chicago Northside: the published-price door
i9 is the only Chicago commercial door that publishes a price you can actually compare — with an asterisk that matters. Its Chicago Northside franchise lists two indoor winter divisions for Early Winter 2027 (Dec 5, 2026 – Jan 30, 2027, 8 weeks, Saturdays): a recreation division for co-ed grades K–3 at $249 “if paid by 10/31/2026,” and a 7 v 7 division for co-ed grades 4–8 at $369 on the same deadline. Late Winter 2027 (Feb 6 – Mar 27, 2027, same shape) repeats the pair at $249 / $369 if paid by 01/02/2027. Time windows, not fixed kickoffs: roughly 8 AM–2 PM for K–1, 8 AM–3 PM for grades 2–6, and 11 AM–3 PM for grades 7–8.
What the page does not publish is just as important: the regular post-deadline fee, what the fee includes (jersey? flags? medal? — not stated for Chicago), and which of the franchise's listed Northside addresses actually hosts indoor flag. Nationally, i9 promises one day a week with practice scheduled before the game, co-ed teams, and girls-only leagues at some locations — but Chicago Northside's listing shows co-ed divisions only, so do not promise a Chicago girls-only i9 season that is not on the page. Other i9 footprints around the city (Humboldt Park, West Loop, Oak Park–Logan Square–Jefferson Park) appear only in job postings and directory listings, not on i9 program pages, so their current flag offerings are unverified. If the early-payment deadline is days away when you read this, that is the decision: $249 / $369 is the price only until the deadline.
i9 Sports Chicago Northside
Early Winter Dec 5 – Jan 30 · $249 / $369 early-payment
Provider logos shown for identification; they belong to their respective owners.
The NFL FLAG leagues: Martin and Midwest YAC
Two in-city leagues carry the NFL FLAG name, and they are opposites on transparency. The Martin NFL Flag Football League plays at the Kroc Center (1250 W. 119th Street, in the Roseland–Pullman area) for ages 5–14, boys and girls, in 7-week seasons that include an Opening Day Mini-camp and a Championship Game Day. Saturdays: about 30 minutes of practice just before a 40-minute to 1-hour game, with volunteer coaches. Its kit is the clearest in the city — a reversible NFL performance jersey and flag belt are included — and its gear rule is the strictest: mouthguards and pocket-less bottoms are required and not included, football cleats are recommended. Its fall 2026 season is in session and spring 2027 registration opens in January 2027. Its base fee, though, is not published: the page shows only a $5 late fee, a $35 cancellation fee, a $3 service fee, and mentions of unquantified early-bird, sibling, and scholarship offers.
Midwest YAC, a nonprofit billing itself as an official league of the NFL FLAG network, plays at Pullman Community Center (10355 S. Woodlawn) with a Winter '27 session advertised for Jan 4 – Feb 22, 2027, Mondays 6–8 PM, registration open. It is the thinnest fact sheet in this guide: no fee anywhere on its homepage, no format stated, and its own age range conflicts with itself (6–16 in one section, 6–15 in another). Treat it as a small local operator worth a phone call — (773) 744-0057 is on the site — not as a page you can register from with confidence. And one exclusion, stated plainly: the YMCA of Metropolitan Chicago has no youth flag football program page on its site, so this guide does not list it as a provider, whatever other cities' YMCAs run.
Martin NFL FLAG
Kroc Center · ages 5–14 · kit included, fee not published
Midwest YAC
Pullman · Winter '27 · fee and format not published
Provider logos shown for identification; they belong to their respective owners.
When your kid is the smallest on the field
This is the section nobody writes, and the one parents actually need. Flag football looks low-pressure from the outside — no pads, no tackling, everyone plays — and then your kid is the smallest on the field, or the one who freezes when the ball comes their way, or the one who wants to quit after week two. That is the normal first season, not a sign you picked the wrong sport. The leagues are built for it: no tryouts, small rosters, and a game where a kid who never touches the ball still runs routes, pulls flags, and belongs on the team. Size is not a sorting mechanism here the way it is in tackle — there are no weight classes because there is nothing to weigh for.
What helps, from the programs' own design rather than from any single anecdote: pick the one-day-a-week league first, because a kid who dreads weeknights will not last to the fun part; use the practice-before-game shape (i9 and Martin both run it) so the first rep of the week is low-stakes; and judge the season by one question — does your kid want to go back? If the answer is no after four weeks in the right division, that is information, not failure: try a different coach, a different time slot, or simply next season. And if your kid is the one asking for pads and contact, do not let a registration deadline decide that conversation — flag keeps every door open, and the tackle question is worth a slow answer.
What to buy, and when
The gear list for flag football is the shortest in youth sports, and the biggest mistake is buying the league's job. Leagues provide the jersey and the flag belt — Martin's kit includes both — so the family shopping list is a mouthguard (required, not included; buy a spare), pocket-less shorts, and molded cleats with no metal spikes. A belt set is for backyard practice only, and receiver gloves are the optional upgrade kids ask for, not a requirement. No helmet, no pads, no expensive equipment bag — that absence is the whole cost story versus tackle, and the full list with honest drawbacks is below.
The full packing list
Everything on this page in one place, grouped by job: what day one requires, what practice at home needs, and what is strictly optional. Every pick carries its honest drawback — that's the deal.
Required — buy before day one
- Shock Doctor Gel Max youth mouthguard
Required, not league-supplied: Martin NFL FLAG requires mouthguards and does not include them. Boil-and-bite fit takes one practice run — and buy a spare, since NFL FLAG itself recommends carrying a backup.
Worth knowing: Boil-and-bite fitting takes a practice run, and kids lose them — buy the backup NFL FLAG itself recommends, not just one. · Typically $16–$21
- Nike Kids' Vapor Edge Shark 2 football cleats
Molded rubber studs only — metal cleats are banned in flag football. Buy these when your league confirms cleats; gym shoes are fine for a first practice.
Worth knowing: Kids outgrow them before wearing them out, and the preschool sizes sell through fast — fit beats brand, and metal spikes are banned outright. · Typically $35
For practice at home
- Wilson NFL Flag Football Belt Kit (5-pack)
Backyard practice only: leagues issue their own belts (Martin's kit includes one), and generic belts may not match league equipment. Buy this for the park, not for game day.
Worth knowing: Generic Velcro belts may not match league equipment — never substitute these for the league-issued belt on game day. · Typically $25
Nice to have
- Cutters Game Day Pro youth receiver gloves
Optional upgrade: sticky grip helps smaller hands hold the ball, but plenty of kids play bare-handed. Try a season without them before spending.
Worth knowing: Strictly optional — plenty of kids play bare-handed, and gloves wear out fast on turf. Try a season bare-handed first if the budget is tight. · Typically $28
Disclosure: PlanMap is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases made through links on this page — it never changes the price you pay or what we recommend.
FAQ — from real parent questions
What age can my kid start flag football in Chicago?
At 4 or 5, depending on the door. i9 Sports starts at age 4 nationally, and its Chicago Northside indoor leagues take co-ed grades K–3 (recreation division) and grades 4–8 (7 v 7). Martin NFL FLAG in Chicago takes ages 5–14. The Park District's football catalog is mostly Youth (ages 6–13 in session bands), with just 5 flag-named Early Childhood sessions at 2 parks — so for a 4- or 5-year-old, a commercial league is usually the realistic first door, and the Park District becomes the cheap, local option from around age 6. Midwest YAC's own site disagrees with itself on its age range (6–15 in one place, 6–16 in another), so confirm before registering there.
Flag vs. tackle — when (if ever) should we switch?
Treat flag as the default start, and tackle timing as a family decision, not a deadline. In parent discussions, guidance recommending that tackle wait until around age 14 is frequently cited — but that is guidance parents quote, not a medical recommendation from this guide, and plenty of Chicago families move to tackle earlier through programs like the Park District's Junior Bears (a tackle program, not flag). The honest shape of it: flag teaches routes, footwork, and game sense with no tackling, and nothing about starting in flag closes a tackle door later. If your child is asking for pads and contact, that is a conversation with their coach and pediatrician, not a registration-day panic.
Is flag football actually safe — is it really no-contact?
It is no-tackle, not no-contact, and the distinction matters. NFL FLAG rules ban tackling, blocking, and diving; a play ends when a flag is pulled. But players still run at full speed without pads, so incidental contact happens — which is why leagues require a mouthguard (Martin NFL FLAG lists mouthguards as required and does not include them in its kit). No helmet, no pads, no weight classes: that absence is both the safety story and the cost story versus tackle. If a league ever describes itself as 'no-contact' without qualification, read it as 'no tackling' — and buy the mouthguard anyway.
What does a season cost, and what's included?
The Park District is cheapest by a wide margin: catalog football fees run $0–$310 with a median of $4.50, and 98 of 200 sessions are free (queried Oct 30, 2026) — but those are per-park seasonal programs on registration days, not a citywide league. i9 Sports Chicago Northside publishes early-payment fees only (checked Oct 30, 2026): $249 for the grades K–3 recreation division and $369 for grades 4–8 7 v 7, each for an 8-week indoor season, if paid by the deadline; the regular post-deadline fee is not published on its page, and what the fee includes is not stated there either. Martin NFL FLAG includes a reversible NFL jersey and flag belt in its player kit, but its base registration fee is not published on its page — only a $5 late fee, a $35 cancellation fee, and a $3 service fee are shown. Midwest YAC publishes no fee at all. Two of Chicago's three in-city commercial doors hide their base price behind a registration flow; the article says so rather than printing a number it cannot verify.
How big is the time commitment?
One day a week — that is the whole selling point against tackle's multi-night weeks. i9 Sports runs practice before the game on the same day, so a Saturday covers both. Martin NFL FLAG runs Saturdays: about 30 minutes of practice just before a 40–60-minute game, over a 7-week season including an Opening Day Mini-camp and a Championship Game Day. Park District programs are per-park seasonal sessions, so the weekly pattern varies by park — check the listing, not the league. If a program asks for weeknights on top of a game day, it is not the rec-flag model this guide describes.
What gear do we actually need to buy?
A mouthguard, pocket-less shorts or pants, and molded cleats — and almost nothing else. Leagues typically provide the jersey and flag belt (Martin NFL FLAG's kit includes both), so do not buy a belt for game day; a belt set is for backyard practice only, and generic belts may not match league equipment. Cleats must be molded rubber or plastic — metal cleats are banned in flag football — and Martin's page says football cleats are recommended, while soccer cleats are commonly accepted where leagues say 'cleats recommended'; confirm with your specific league before buying. Receiver gloves are optional: nice grip for smaller hands, unnecessary for a first season. No helmet, no pads, ever, in flag.
Can girls play? Are there girls-only leagues in Chicago?
Girls play co-ed in every Chicago youth league verified for this guide: i9 Sports Chicago Northside lists co-ed divisions only, and Martin NFL FLAG takes boys and girls ages 5–14. No Chicago youth-league girls-only division was verified this run — i9 offers girls-only leagues at some locations nationally, and NFL FLAG runs girls divisions at the regional level, but neither is confirmed for a Chicago youth season. The longer runway is real, though: Illinois sanctioned girls flag football as an IHSA sport in February 2024, the first state series ran in fall 2024, and about 240 schools fielded teams in fall 2026, after a CPS/Bears grassroots league that started in 2021 with 21 teams. A girl starting co-ed flag at 8 has a school-team destination waiting.
When do seasons run, and when does registration open?
Fall and spring are the standard seasons, and registration is seasonal — not rolling — at these leagues, which is how parents miss windows. Right now (checked Oct 30, 2026), i9 Sports Chicago Northside is selling indoor winter seasons: Early Winter Dec 5, 2026 – Jan 30, 2027, and Late Winter Feb 6 – Mar 27, 2027, both 8 weeks on Saturdays, with early-payment deadlines of Oct 31, 2026 and Jan 2, 2027 respectively. Martin NFL FLAG's fall 2026 season is in session and its spring 2027 registration opens in January 2027. Midwest YAC's advertised Winter '27 session runs Jan 4 – Feb 22, 2027, Mondays 6–8 PM at Pullman Community Center. Park District football follows the Park District's seasonal registration days, per park. Put the January dates on the calendar now: two of the three commercial doors open or price-jump then.
Part of the flag football cluster — for the same treatment of another team sport, see Kids' Soccer Programs in Chicago, Compared, or browse football programs with live Park District listings, or return to the activity guides hub.
Data modules on this page are generated from the PlanMap catalog (Chicago Park District public data) as of October 30, 2026. Commercial program structures and prices are from provider sites, checked October 30, 2026. The parent-community knowledge base contains no flag-football entries, so listening questions here come from provider FAQs and public parent discussion, labeled as such. The YMCA of Metropolitan Chicago has no youth flag football program page and is not listed as a provider. PlanMap is an independent project, not affiliated with the Chicago Park District or any listed provider; registration happens with each provider, and we never claim live seat availability. Product links on this page are Amazon Associates links (tag planmap-20) — we earn from qualifying purchases, which never changes what we recommend.